IT WASN’T YOU, IT WAS ME (An Extempore Poem) by Su’eddie Vershima Agema

( for yesterday…)

 

It wasn’t you

It was me.

It wasn’t that you were late.

It’s just you made convenience expire.

I would have stayed forever to wait

You know, simply to catch the beauty of you

even for those moments – a few

but time came to call

and I didn’t know if you really would come…

 

 

Did you know that I had to bite my fingered thoughts

wondering what I’d tell you?

Yes, you leave me breathless…

So, as I ticked those moments waiting

wondering what to say…

That time when I told you to take your time

little or no inspiration came my way

Still, the glee of the moment

just the thought of you was enough to relieve me of the torment

 

When you didn’t show

I eventually had to go

Life called and other issues

 

Wipe the tears dear

It wasn’t you

It was me.

It wasn’t that you were late.

It’s just you made convenience expire.

I would have stayed forever to wait

You know, simply to catch the beauty of you

but time came to call

 

And that is why when you tried to call

the user was absent at the other end.

Leave a Reply

