How beautiful are you?

You don’t think you’re beautiful enough

To say “I want to be loved and not to be taken

Advantaged of”?

You don’t think you’re beautiful enough

To say “Don’t talk to me like that”?

You don’t think you’re beautiful enough

To say “Don’t touch me like that”?

You don’t think you’re beautiful enough

To say “material possessions can never

Materialize into a better me”?

You don’t think you’re beautiful enough

To say “I want be loved, adored and respected?”

You don’t think you’re beautiful enough

To say “I want to be the best wife and mother my

Family would be proud of?”

 

Well, allow me to answer that for you;

You are beautiful lady,

More beautiful than any of God’s creatures

You are the star that shines the earth

You are adorable and so kind hearted

One worthy of only a real man who knows and

Understands your self-worth

A man who’d love you unconditionally.

 

In the middle of my bewilderment,

I finally took a stand that,

Some of us want to be the fire extinguisher

Others will grab the valuables and leave

The house as soon as they smell the smoke

I promise to be here whenever you need me

Inspired by Amir Sulaiman’s poem “You are pretty’

2 thoughts on “How beautiful are you?

Leave a Reply

