Poem: Practice in Staying

stay

(For my future wife)

I come from a long line of men

Who chose divorce papers

Over apologies

To them, that word doesn’t exist

 

Men who love their kids,

But not the women

They came out of.

What an irony

 

I fear the amount of escape  I have

Running through my blood.

Everyday will be a practice in staying,

Sitting in the mire,

Being still in the flame

And saying to myself

This house will not burn

Without my permission

Inspired by Rudy Francisco

Leave a Reply

